We Discover. We Grow.

The Duke of Edinburgh Award gives all young people the chance to develop skills for work and life, fulfil their potential and have a brighter future

What does the award involve?

There are three award levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each of the levels involve the participant to complete sections covering Volunteering, Physical, Skills, Expedition and for Gold, a Residential. More information is available on the official Duke of Edinburgh website.

Who can take part?

You need to be 14 years old to start working on the Bronze award, 15 years old to start working on the Silver award and 16 years old to begin working on the Gold award. Visit the Duke of edinburgh website for more information on levels and timescales. You have until your 25th birthday to complete whichever level you are working on.

How can the County help you?

Some Guide and Senior Section units within the County already offer DofE to their members through their unit programme.

Have you considered the Queen’s Guide Award?

The Queen’s Guide Award is the highest award that you can achieve as a member of Girlguiding UK and is similar to the GOLD Duke of Edinburgh award. Find out more

County Duke of Edinburgh Award Co-ordinator

Position Vacant

Video: A flavour of a DofE Expedition

Back to the top